LOGO

DSC_0773 copy copy

The word I selected was “emerge” and the style that I attempted to create it in is emptiness. I picked the word “emerge” because the concept that I initially thought of is that you have to come out of the darkness to see the light and that even if you can’t, you’ll always find some light lingering in even the darkest of places. To simple it up, I was going for emerge from the darkness into the light. My painting fits in the category of emptiness because it does not lead you into one solid direction. It instead leaves room for the viewer to expand on what they see and conjure up their own ideas or stories as to what the painting means.

My logo consists mainly of foreground and background- possibly some middle ground depending on how you look at things. The foreground in my logo is the silhouette of the girl; she also symbolizes the word “emerge.” I used watercolor to create my background for this image -and I think that I did a pretty good job for it being my first time. The bright background symbolizes light. In the middle of the girls silhouette, you will find the moon. The moon represents the light in the dark, basically to let you know that there is still hope.

In my logo, I also heavily focused on my contrast. I wanted to really get the perfect contrast in order to really grab the viewer and draw them in. Personally, I think I got as close to fifty-fifty as I possibly could get. To tie in motion and implied line into my design, I ended up using the silhouette’s hair to my advantage. To achieve motion, I made the hair of the silhouette really long and tried making it look like it was blowing in the wind. Also, to help achieve the effect even more, I had all the hair going in the same direction. To tie implied lines into my photo, I made the silhouette’s hair go over the border and look like it goes off of the page. This implies that the hair goes on forever and ever.

My biggest downfall was my lack of line weight. There are literally two, maybe three different line weights apparent in my logo. If I did this project over again, the next time I would add many different line weights to the moon in order to give it more dimension. Overall, I don’t think it turned out bad a all considering it was my first time for everything pretty much. I hope you appreciate the work I put into it as well.  

About tylerjamesxo

Summary A few sentences long. Should include: Who are you? What is your focus/? What do you aspire to? Whatwill be found in this portfolio (in broad strokes)? Check for spelling, grammar, capitalization, etc. Spend some time refining this. Should NOT include: Information not relevant to this portfolio (“I have a brother named Steve, and a fish named Jimmy”) Informal language (“im TOTES into teh database programming!!1!”) ‘shout outs’ (“Hey Jimmy! Say hi to mom for me!”) Think about the tone you want to present publicly and to your faculty. After your summary, list the following categories: Software expertise [list all software in which you are proficient] Related Work [Work or internships related to DMA. What was your job title? Where? When?] Exhibitions [Any time your work has exhibited- public screenings, gallery shows, etc. What? When? Where?] Publications [Any of your images or writing that has been published. What? When? Where?] Conferences [Any conferences you’ve attended. What? When? Where? If you presented, also post the title of the presentation. Organizations [Off-campus organizations you are a member of. Do you hold a special position? President, Treasurer, etc?] Clubs [Campus clubs you are a part of. Do you hold a special position? President, Treasurer, etc?] Volunteering [Any community service or volunteer events you’ve been involved with] List all of these categories, even if some of them are blank for now. Make it your goal to fill out something in each category.
This entry was posted in Non-Timebased and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

