A Day in My Life: Book

Cover

InsideofBook

For my Foundations: Forum and Space Relationships class that I am taking in college, my professor asked us to make a book that illustrates a day in our lives. It was a really time consuming and sometimes frustrating process, but the end result is most definitely worth it. I wanted my book to be really fun and interesting to look at. To make it fun, I made some of the drawings pretty humorous. To make it interesting wasn’t so easy. I ended up having to use multiple design elements to try and make my book interesting to most viewers. The day in my life that you are seeing is my first day of college.

The first design element that I focused on was size. I used size to do multiple things. The first thing I used it for was to create humor. One example in my drawings is the size of the deer compared to the car. Obviously deer are not the size of or bigger than a car. I did this to symbolize how big of a hassle the deer was on my first day of school- considering me hitting it took up about 45 minutes of my time. The other thing I used size for was to signify importance. The first example of how I did this is in the clock. I made the clock the biggest thing in my drawing because, driving to college, going to classes and then driving home from classes takes up a huge chunk of my day. Next I drew my iPod really big because music plays such a huge role in my life. Also, obviously I love food so I made that oversized as well. I wrote the word “food” in Japanese because that is my favorite type of food. Lastly I drew me sleeping really small and really big. I drew it small at the beginning because I absolutely do not like getting up early in the morning. On the other hand, I drew me sleeping really big at the end because; there is nothing I love more than to go to bed early.

Next, I used different types of lines and line weights to achieve different things in my book. I used hairy lines for my hair because I simply thought that it would look the best. Then next thing I did, was I used a lot of hard lines. I used hard lines on pretty much all of the drawings in my book because they were the things that really stuck out in my day, so I wanted them to be bold. I also used different line weights to signify importance and create depth- it was also for cosmetic reasons.

I created my book to be a satire. I did this because the events that happened on my first day of college were pretty much a joke, and deserve to be laughed at. It was a bad day; but looking back at it now, it was much more funny than anything. To create humor in my piece I basically exaggerated a lot of things. One example of my exaggeration is the drawings of myself. I made my eyebrows extra bushy, my hair extra messy, and my mole extra big, my facial hair extra thick and my mouth extra big.

My first day of college was a comical mess, and I believe the illustrations represent the chaos well. Using the different design elements really helped to make my book more appealing. It was a hard task to complete, but after all the blood sweat and tears, I personally think I made the best book I can, and I love it. I am really happy that my professor assigned this project to us.

About tylerjamesxo

Summary A few sentences long. Should include: Who are you? What is your focus/? What do you aspire to? Whatwill be found in this portfolio (in broad strokes)? Check for spelling, grammar, capitalization, etc. Spend some time refining this. Should NOT include: Information not relevant to this portfolio (“I have a brother named Steve, and a fish named Jimmy”) Informal language (“im TOTES into teh database programming!!1!”) ‘shout outs’ (“Hey Jimmy! Say hi to mom for me!”) Think about the tone you want to present publicly and to your faculty. After your summary, list the following categories: Software expertise [list all software in which you are proficient] Related Work [Work or internships related to DMA. What was your job title? Where? When?] Exhibitions [Any time your work has exhibited- public screenings, gallery shows, etc. What? When? Where?] Publications [Any of your images or writing that has been published. What? When? Where?] Conferences [Any conferences you’ve attended. What? When? Where? If you presented, also post the title of the presentation. Organizations [Off-campus organizations you are a member of. Do you hold a special position? President, Treasurer, etc?] Clubs [Campus clubs you are a part of. Do you hold a special position? President, Treasurer, etc?] Volunteering [Any community service or volunteer events you’ve been involved with] List all of these categories, even if some of them are blank for now. Make it your goal to fill out something in each category.
This entry was posted in Journal, Non-Timebased, Writing and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

