Stitched

LogoOfMe

The poster that I created, “Stitched,” is based off of chapters three and five in my book- Natures Ethics and Shapes. The first step in the creation of my poster was to take a self-portrait with light emulating on to my face. I then had to upload it to Photoshop and adjust the curves on an adjustment layer. This was necessary to make the picture high contrast. Then to create positive and negative space, I had to add a threshold adjustment layer. This took tall the whites completely white and all the blacks completely black. I chose to make my face with the hand the positive space, while the white in my poster is the negative space.

In the creation process, I focused majorly on rule eight of the 12 principals of design- integrate rather than segregate. I wanted my border to not just be an ordinary boarder, but a transition that links my key ideas. What I’m saying is that instead of the boarder just framing my image, I actually integrated it into the final drawing so it could play a roll in the overall concept. I got my inspiration of integrating my boarder into the overall image from many of David Lance Goines’ works.

“Stitched” would be considered an open composition because the stitches on the poster touch the edge of the paper and continue going on. This also creates implied lines. The stiches symbolize each experience I’ve been through that help to complete me. They go beyond the border to represent how my journey isn’t over. The word that I used to create a metaphor is stitched- hence me naming my poster “Stitched”. “Stitched” is a metaphor because like the dolls of a marionette I am stitched together, not literally, but from experiences.

I chose for my composition to look like it was almost in the shape of a triangle. I did this because the triangle implies transformation. The image as a whole just looks like a rectangle, but wen you look at the key points of it, the hand and the word, it creates a triangle threw implied lines. My poster also consists of mainly organic shapes. This was because I wanted it to feel natural and to symbolize how threw natural occurrences we become who we are.

About tylerjamesxo

Summary A few sentences long. Should include: Who are you? What is your focus/? What do you aspire to? Whatwill be found in this portfolio (in broad strokes)? Check for spelling, grammar, capitalization, etc. Spend some time refining this. Should NOT include: Information not relevant to this portfolio (“I have a brother named Steve, and a fish named Jimmy”) Informal language (“im TOTES into teh database programming!!1!”) ‘shout outs’ (“Hey Jimmy! Say hi to mom for me!”) Think about the tone you want to present publicly and to your faculty. After your summary, list the following categories: Software expertise [list all software in which you are proficient] Related Work [Work or internships related to DMA. What was your job title? Where? When?] Exhibitions [Any time your work has exhibited- public screenings, gallery shows, etc. What? When? Where?] Publications [Any of your images or writing that has been published. What? When? Where?] Conferences [Any conferences you’ve attended. What? When? Where? If you presented, also post the title of the presentation. Organizations [Off-campus organizations you are a member of. Do you hold a special position? President, Treasurer, etc?] Clubs [Campus clubs you are a part of. Do you hold a special position? President, Treasurer, etc?] Volunteering [Any community service or volunteer events you’ve been involved with] List all of these categories, even if some of them are blank for now. Make it your goal to fill out something in each category.
This entry was posted in Journal, Non-Timebased, Writing and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

