Snow White

SnowWhite

It is no secret that Snow White is a little crazy thinking she can talk to animals and such. The questions are, can she really talk to animals, or is she crazy, OR is she just on some grade-A cocaine? You might question my last question, but here is what I see. Even thought Snow White is a Disney movie, Walt Disney did not invent “Snow White” -the film was based on the European version of the fairy tale that was collected by the Grimm brothers over a century earlier. However, Disney did turn the short fairy tale into a feature film. He was also the one who created the names and corresponding personalities to each one of the seven dwarfs. People claim that there is no way that Snow White is promoting drugs, but the evidence is right in front of you. First of all, the street name for cocaine is in fact “Snow.” I understand that Snow White was always her name, but considering the dwarfs weren’t always part of the story, why add them and have them perfectly match the various stages of cocaine addiction? The seven and only stages of cocaine addiction. If they weren’t made to represent this, then why are there seven of them to begin with? People suffering from this addiction suffer from many symptoms such as changes in sleep/wake patterns (sleepy), mood swings (happy, grumpy), alteration of personality (dopey, bashful), and allergies (sneezy). You might not believe the story, but consider my evidence.

For this project, I created a visual Haiku. I established this by creating different sequences of seven-five-seven. Before anything, I mapped out my idea. I knew as soon as I heard about this project that I wanted to do Snow White, but I didn’t know how. My first sequence is Five images of Snow White. I did this because, when you aren’t aquatinted with someone of importance you call them by their last names. “White,” has five letters to it. To show the idea that she might be crazy or on cocaine, in every image that she is talking to animals, I glitched out just a little bit. I did to show how, even though she might be on cocaine, she still is not completely out of it.

The next sequence is seven images of the dwarfs. I added these because there are seven dwarfs, and also introduce the idea of drug usage. To do this, I glitched every other image of them to represent the idea of corruption. Also, in the image where they are all at the foot of the bed whit their noses resting on the foot board, I added a trail of white powder along the bed frame to make it appear as if they were sniffing it up.

Next, there is a sequence of 5 images of the witch. I did this to display Snow Whites’ downfall. In my GIF, the witch represents peer pressure. It is because of her that Snow White becomes addicted to cocaine. I understand that there are more than 5 images in this sequence, but the ideas was that there are only five different images of the witch. I also put the witch in a sequence of five, instead of seven, to kind of shorten her appearance in the GIF up and to display how that little encounter with Snow Whites changed the rest of her life.

The next couple things are kind of short. After the witches appearance, I did a seven frame sequence of Snow White loosing it and giving in to peer pressure. All seven slides are the same image but glitched out. After that, I did a 5 framed sequence of Snow White sniffing cocaine. The next image displays the side effects of chronic use of cocaine, this takes up seven frames. After that, the GIF breaks away from the seven-five-seven rule in order to display how to cocaine makes her all over the place.

The last thing I did, was I went back and made time adjustment to help tell the story. I made all the slides a higher rate of 0.35 seconds up until the image of her snorting. This was to display how nice and calm her life was going. I held the 5 images of Snow White snorting on the screen for 0.3 second each. Because they are all the same image it looks like one image stayed up for 1.5 seconds. I did this because I wanted viewers to have just enough time to digest what was happening. if they still didn’t understand, I had the next sequence stay on screen for 2.5 seconds. This was just long enough to read the title on the image, “Side Effects of Chronic Use of Cocaine.” After that, I made the rest of the images go by really fast to show how quickly drugs can destroy your life.

About tylerjamesxo

Summary A few sentences long. Should include: Who are you? What is your focus/? What do you aspire to? Whatwill be found in this portfolio (in broad strokes)? Check for spelling, grammar, capitalization, etc. Spend some time refining this. Should NOT include: Information not relevant to this portfolio (“I have a brother named Steve, and a fish named Jimmy”) Informal language (“im TOTES into teh database programming!!1!”) ‘shout outs’ (“Hey Jimmy! Say hi to mom for me!”) Think about the tone you want to present publicly and to your faculty. After your summary, list the following categories: Software expertise [list all software in which you are proficient] Related Work [Work or internships related to DMA. What was your job title? Where? When?] Exhibitions [Any time your work has exhibited- public screenings, gallery shows, etc. What? When? Where?] Publications [Any of your images or writing that has been published. What? When? Where?] Conferences [Any conferences you’ve attended. What? When? Where? If you presented, also post the title of the presentation. Organizations [Off-campus organizations you are a member of. Do you hold a special position? President, Treasurer, etc?] Clubs [Campus clubs you are a part of. Do you hold a special position? President, Treasurer, etc?] Volunteering [Any community service or volunteer events you’ve been involved with] List all of these categories, even if some of them are blank for now. Make it your goal to fill out something in each category.
This entry was posted in Best Work, Time-Based, Writing and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

