Final Book

Final Book

 

For my book, My intensions were to create a vintage looking book with a modern twist. Because its supposed to be an old book, I chose to photograph by a old wall in my house. For the cover, I incorporated 1 thing from each category in the elements and principals of design. The twine was used to create literal hairy lines. Natural shapes were created when I piled on gold paint and let it run down the cover. Emotional value was used throughout the cover to create movement. Theres not much, but its there. Color intensity is represented by the gold paint. I created space by overlapping different elements on the cover as well. The scale of everything is based off surrealism. This is because compared to space, the tools wouldn’t actually be the size they are on my cover.

When filling my book, I tried to stay in my comfort zone as much as possible. Im not strong when it homes to drawing with pencil and paper, so that is rarely seen inside of the book. I like painting, so for two of my images I did that. (all images and explanations will be below) I actually ended up painting over one of the drawings in my book because, a big glob of paint got on it and I could not get it off. The majority of my book is filled with my photography and Adobe Illustrator drawings.

I believe that my time management while making this book was really good. It really helped that my professor required us to have two images done each week. In the mean time I was working on my cover little by little. There are a couple of things that I do regret though.

  • I wish I was more careful and didn’t get green paint on my cat image.
  • I wish I had more money so I could re-print a couple images.
  • Instead of glueing pages together, I used clear tape and it doesn’t look the best. When I tried removing it, all the sticky stuff was left on the pages and the got stuck together, so I just re-applied the tape. If I were to re-do this project, I would just glue he images together.

NegativeSpace

 

(Page 1) This image is to create negative space.  For this image the outline of the cat is what represents negative space. In the book however, this is not what the image looks like. This is actually the image that got a big glob of green paint on it, so I improvised. Below os what it looks like now.

IMG_0313

 

I know its not the best, but I think its cute. Also, I couldn’t replace it because I have insufficient funds left in my printing account.

ScratchyLines

(Page 2) This image displays scratchy lines. Most artists try to avoid them, but I like how they look for certain drawings.

10549126_776860135699439_8087166525745848201_o

(Page 3) This image is a creative self portrait or caricature of myself depicted as a zombie. I did this because Halloween was coming up when I made it. I made this image entirely in Adobe Illustrator CC 2014 using the pen tool. This image was created to represent different line weights. Line weight represent how thin, thick, soft, hard, dark or light a line is. As you can tell from the image above, I used all six of the different factors. Line weight is important because it can completely change an image from good to great.

10682376_800836913301761_8249296608818435875_o

 

(Page 4 and 5) This image represents humor. Humor plays a huge roll in art because it can give off mixed messages and lead viewers to interpert things in different ways.

BurriedAliveReEdit2

 

(Page 6) This is probably one of my favorite images in my book. This image was created to represent surrealism. Surrealism is a 20th-century avant-garde movement in art and literature that sought to release the creative potential of the unconscious mind. It was created by compositing 27 different pictures together, all of which I took. I also has many minor adjustments and color shifts along with lighting correction.

10499491_776857699033016_5709652725490669456_o(Page 7) This image is a caricature of Nicki Minaj that I did to display soft edge lines. Soft edge is when it is painted so that it disappears or fades into the background.crop(Page 8 and 9) This image was created to display the importance of size. Size is an item’s height, width and depth noted in either inches or centimeters. It also can display power or importance.

Nicki Minaj(Page 10 and 11) This image was made with inspiration from Andy Warhol. I wanted to recreate the beautiful piece he did of Marilyn Monroe. It was kind of hard to achieve the look of screen printing on photoshop but after about four hours I came up with the solution and this is the result. This image is colored in using only the primary colors. The primary colors are red, blue and yellow. These colors can be combined to make any other color that you need.

10448248_749224911796295_4256414731368465899_n(Page 12 and 13) The next image is actually a photograph taken by me. I took this image sometime in December of 2013, but I am not completely sure of the exact date. I have always loved this photograph and, in fact, it helped me win the Sills USA states tournament. The photograph was already black and white, but I bumped up the contrast quite a bit. This image represent anti-chromatic colors. I wanted it it to represent all the different shades of grey, as you will notice, there is actually no “pure” white in the photograph. I re-edited this photo on October 18, 2014Scan 1.5edit

(Page 14) This image was created using Adobe Illustrator CC 2014. It was made to illustrate emphasis. Emphasis is defined as an area or an object within an artwork that draws attention and becomes a focal point. I drew the hand with the idea of making it the focal point of this creation.

susaninwonderland-2.5

 

(Page 15) This image represents color intensity.Iy is displayed in the purple of the trees and the blue pf the moss. Color intensity refers to how bright or dull a color is. Brightness and dullness are both displayed in this photograph. The is a mixture of dulls and brightness of color in the leaves on the ground. While the tree tops are strictly bright colors.  MixBreed

 

(Page 16 and 17) These two painting are to represent warm colors and cool colors. Warm colors are those that tend to advance in space and can be overwhelming. Examples of warm colors include red and orange. Think of fire or volcano’s s. While cool colors are not overpowering and tend to recede in space. Examples of cool colors include white, gray, blue and green. Think calming blue waters or the outer space. Warm and Cool colors can be used to compliment each other. Knowing this, I created the two images to have two completely different feelings, but are required to be put next to each other to create an overall image.

 

PopArt

This image was supposed to be in my book as well, but unfortunately, I dropped it in the snow and now the print is destroyed. I was going to re-print it, but as I said earlier, I have no printing money left.

 

About tylerjamesxo

Summary A few sentences long. Should include: Who are you? What is your focus/? What do you aspire to? Whatwill be found in this portfolio (in broad strokes)? Check for spelling, grammar, capitalization, etc. Spend some time refining this. Should NOT include: Information not relevant to this portfolio (“I have a brother named Steve, and a fish named Jimmy”) Informal language (“im TOTES into teh database programming!!1!”) ‘shout outs’ (“Hey Jimmy! Say hi to mom for me!”) Think about the tone you want to present publicly and to your faculty. After your summary, list the following categories: Software expertise [list all software in which you are proficient] Related Work [Work or internships related to DMA. What was your job title? Where? When?] Exhibitions [Any time your work has exhibited- public screenings, gallery shows, etc. What? When? Where?] Publications [Any of your images or writing that has been published. What? When? Where?] Conferences [Any conferences you’ve attended. What? When? Where? If you presented, also post the title of the presentation. Organizations [Off-campus organizations you are a member of. Do you hold a special position? President, Treasurer, etc?] Clubs [Campus clubs you are a part of. Do you hold a special position? President, Treasurer, etc?] Volunteering [Any community service or volunteer events you’ve been involved with] List all of these categories, even if some of them are blank for now. Make it your goal to fill out something in each category.
Image | This entry was posted in Non-Timebased, Writing and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

