Perception

The inspiration behind my video is the word perception- the act or faculty of perceiving, or apprehending by means of the senses or of the mind; cognition; understanding. The video illustrates how, based on the person, your reality might change. Especially on the internet. To show this I used a combination of my own photographs, glitches of those photographs and Adobe Illustrator image tracings using the low fidelity trace setting. I had the pictures already, so I thought I would make use of them. My model is not a girly girl what so ever, so there is where the idea of perception begins. She hates makeup and having her hair done, as you can tell, she wasn’t smiling in a single picture. You wouldn’t know she hated it unless you saw the black and white pictures, so I added them. Without them she’s just a beautiful model who loves what she’s doing, but that wasn’t the case at all. Also, to create the change in perception, every time an actual photograph popped up, it either glitches completely out or glitches into one of the Illustrator traces. I decided to add the traces because you can clearly tell that they were computer generated. So, when one of the final photographs would pop up, I would have it glitch into the illustrations because of how fake the final image was and how far away from my model it truly is.

For this project, I focused really hard on montage along with a couple other cinematography techniques. The two montages I portrayed are metric and intellectual montage. My project would be considered to have metric montage because, I have a variety of different shots of my model getting her hair and make-up done and it lead to the final image when everything is done and photographed. “Perception” would also be considered intellectual montage because of how I choose to portray the meaning. As I said earlier, every time an actual photograph would pop up it would either entirely glitch out or glitch to an illustration of the photograph. The glitching is intellectual because fro me we can guess that there is something wrong.

I also focussed on composition and the rule of thirds, depth of field,  and lighting. For most of my shots, the model is in the left or right if the grid that is created when you think of the rule of thirds. This was important, because It brings attention to the model while still enabling the viewer to see whats going on around them. I also use different depths of field because, I wanted you to see what was happening to the model, but not have a 100% clear view of who is doing it or even what they are doing. Most of the pictures I used had pretty decent lighting, so I went on Photoshop and darkened them up quite a bit. This was to show how horrible of a time she was having. When it comes to the glitches, I tried creating glitches that contained mostly cool colors, this was also an attempt to show how sad she was and home much she didn’t like what was going on. I made one glitch have red, because at one point when my hair dresser was doing her hair, she accidentally tugged my models hair a little too hard and my model got extremely pissed off and almost called everything off.

About tylerjamesxo

Summary A few sentences long. Should include: Who are you? What is your focus/? What do you aspire to? Whatwill be found in this portfolio (in broad strokes)? Check for spelling, grammar, capitalization, etc. Spend some time refining this. Should NOT include: Information not relevant to this portfolio (“I have a brother named Steve, and a fish named Jimmy”) Informal language (“im TOTES into teh database programming!!1!”) ‘shout outs’ (“Hey Jimmy! Say hi to mom for me!”) Think about the tone you want to present publicly and to your faculty. After your summary, list the following categories: Software expertise [list all software in which you are proficient] Related Work [Work or internships related to DMA. What was your job title? Where? When?] Exhibitions [Any time your work has exhibited- public screenings, gallery shows, etc. What? When? Where?] Publications [Any of your images or writing that has been published. What? When? Where?] Conferences [Any conferences you’ve attended. What? When? Where? If you presented, also post the title of the presentation. Organizations [Off-campus organizations you are a member of. Do you hold a special position? President, Treasurer, etc?] Clubs [Campus clubs you are a part of. Do you hold a special position? President, Treasurer, etc?] Volunteering [Any community service or volunteer events you’ve been involved with] List all of these categories, even if some of them are blank for now. Make it your goal to fill out something in each category.
This entry was posted in Time-Based, Writing and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

