Caricature

ColorMeCaricatures are created by exaggerating dominate features of a person in order to create a cartoon like character.  Physical features are not the only thing that can be exaggerated, but personality traits can be amplified as well. Not only do caricature recreate a person as a cartoon, they are also intended to be comical. Many artists are known for creating caricatures, and for most its the only thing they do. As fun and goofy as they may be, creating caricatures can be quite a painstaking task. Especially when the caricature you are creating is of yourself!

IMG_8525IMG_0159IMG_0158

(Above are my three preliminary drawing in the order that they were drawn. This is so you can see how my caricature developed through trial and error.)

For my caricature, I decided to exaggerate a few things. First, and probably the most noticeable, I exaggerated my hairy chin and above my lip. To make it really noticeable, I decided to make my chin huge so attention is drawn to it. Secondly I decided to exaggerate my thick caterpillar eyebrows. I really wanted them so huge that it was impossible, so I made it so they trailed off of my face because there wasn’t enough room on my face for them. The last thing I did was made myself have a huge smile because I am pretty much always happy.

Memefinal  Hatching

(These are my final drawings. The first is the illustrator tracing of the second image. The second image is the inked image. The third is my final inked image. I created dimension in the third one using hatching and crosshatching.)

MeAsNickiFinal

(Final colored caricature using illustrator and photoshop.)

I used inspiration from three artists to create my final caricatures. The first artist that I drew inspiration from is Al Hirschfeld. I mainly looked at him when creating my black and white caricature. Like Hirschfeld, my drawing is very simple, and I used hatching and crosshatching to add dimension to my caricature in a similar manner that he did. Another thing that my caricature shares with his is its small neck. The next artist that I used for inspiration is Drew Friedman. For my final colored caricature, I tried to do coloring and shading like he does. I got my proportions from Max Beerbohm. Like his caricatures, mine have a head the same size as its whole body. Also, a lot of Beerbohm’s caricatures are funny and have to to with famous people during his time. Well, I absolutely LOVE Nicki Minaj and I thought it would be funny/cute if I drew up her controversial “Anaconda” cover and put my head on it. I really love the end result and am glad that I decided to do it.nicki

About tylerjamesxo

Summary A few sentences long. Should include: Who are you? What is your focus/? What do you aspire to? Whatwill be found in this portfolio (in broad strokes)? Check for spelling, grammar, capitalization, etc. Spend some time refining this. Should NOT include: Information not relevant to this portfolio (“I have a brother named Steve, and a fish named Jimmy”) Informal language (“im TOTES into teh database programming!!1!”) ‘shout outs’ (“Hey Jimmy! Say hi to mom for me!”) Think about the tone you want to present publicly and to your faculty. After your summary, list the following categories: Software expertise [list all software in which you are proficient] Related Work [Work or internships related to DMA. What was your job title? Where? When?] Exhibitions [Any time your work has exhibited- public screenings, gallery shows, etc. What? When? Where?] Publications [Any of your images or writing that has been published. What? When? Where?] Conferences [Any conferences you’ve attended. What? When? Where? If you presented, also post the title of the presentation. Organizations [Off-campus organizations you are a member of. Do you hold a special position? President, Treasurer, etc?] Clubs [Campus clubs you are a part of. Do you hold a special position? President, Treasurer, etc?] Volunteering [Any community service or volunteer events you’ve been involved with] List all of these categories, even if some of them are blank for now. Make it your goal to fill out something in each category.
This entry was posted in Non-Timebased and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

